Catering for students from nursery level through to the International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma Programme (Grades 11 & 12), PIA offers unique educational opportunities for learners of all ages.

Making Connections

IB approaches to teaching and learning have a transdisciplinary approach in the primary years, an interdisciplinary approach in the middle years and a disciplinary approach in the Diploma years. Connections between and among disciplines are valued at every level.

Key benefits of completing the IB Programme include:
  • Comprehensive education - Students identify and develop their areas of strength, simultaneously improving upon areas of weakness.
  • International perspective – The IB programme encourages students to think globally and act locally. International-mindedness is woven into our curriculum as a key value in the notion that what unites us as human beings is greater than what divides us.
  • Internationally respected - Knowledgeable colleges, universities and employers across the globe recognise the IB as the "gold standard" in world-class education.
Phuket International Academy

Primary School

The PIA Primary programme has been designed specifically to meet the individual requirements of children between three and eleven years old in a stimulating, caring environment. Our learning culture is such that students feel comfortable and confident in accepting challenges, recognising that mistakes are part of the learning process and learning from each new experience is essential as they progress in leaps and bounds.

Our Primary School curriculum follows the International Baccalaureate Primary Years Programme (IB PYP), which encourages students to be actively involved in their education as they develop the skills they require to succeed and engage with the process of lifelong learning. All children enrolled are taught to become inquirers not only in the classroom but also as part of the world outside; we focus on the development of the whole child. All of our Primary students also benefit from physical education classes, swimming, art and music classes.

Middle Years Programme

In the Middle School at PIA, we offer students the chance to engage with the globally respected International Baccalaureate’s Middle Years Programme (MYP). Designed for learners between 11 and 16 years of age, the MYP provides a developmentally appropriate framework for efficient learning, with specific emphasis placed on the skills necessary to be creative, analytical and reflective learners.

The MYP Programme comprises eight subject groups, six global contexts which provide a foundation for learning, and specific emphasis on PIA’s approaches to learning and learner profile.

MYP subject groups include:

-          Language and Literature: English, Thai, and Mother Tongue support

-          Language Acquisition: Chinese, French, and Thai

-          Individuals & Societies

-          Sciences

-          Mathematics

-          Performing and Visual Arts

-          Physical & Health Education

-          Design

Each of the MYP’s six global contexts seeks to answer a number of core questions about our lives and the world around us, relating to:

  • Identities and relationships
  • Personal and cultural expression
  • Scientific and technological innovation
  • Globalisation and sustainability

Diploma Programme

Our International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme (IBDP) has been designed specifically for students between 16 and 19 years of age. At PIA, we allow students either to follow the full IB Diploma Programme or to pursue their choice of individual IB Diploma courses.

The IBDP is an internationally-recognised and respected means of preparing for further academic study at university level. In addition to providing a sound and well-rounded academic base, the IB Diploma Programme helps students to build their research skills, encourages independent thought, promotes a positive attitude towards learning and is accepted at universities across the globe.

At PIA, those enrolled on the IB undertake the following core course elements:

  • Extended Essay (EE)
  • Theory of Knowledge (ToK)
  • Creativity, Action and Service

In addition, students are required to take one subject from each of the subject groups listed below, three of which are studied at Higher Level (HL) and three which are studied at Standard Level (SL). The aforementioned subject groups include:

  • Group 1: Studies in Language and Literature SL/HL, Self-taught Mother Tongue (SL only)
  • Group 2: Language acquisition (Language B SL/HL, Ab Initio SL) or a second Language A
  • Group 3: Individuals and Societies (Humanities SL/HL)
  • Group 4: Experimental Sciences (SL/HL)
  • Group 5: Mathematics
  • Group 6: Arts (SL/HL)